South Africa is one of the most cricket-loving nations in the world. Visit 1xBet betting on cricket on the many competitions that can be found there.

Between 1969 and 1993, a competition known as the Nissan Shield was played in that part of the world. It is worth noting that this championship also had other names, such as:

  • the Gillette Cup;
  • the Datsun Shield;
  • and the Total Power Series.

All punters can start betting on cricket through 1xBet on other cricket championships held in this part of the world too.

A Limited-Overs Competition

Plenty of teams participated in the Nissan Shield during its history. One of its most interesting aspects was that it was a one-day cricket competition. This meant that it was played in a limited-overs format. At, you can wager on different variations of horse racing competitions too.


All matches from its first editions had 60 overs, which made them shorter and also meant that they could attract more followers. This was decreased to 55 overs later in the tournament. The participating teams came from two levels of the Currie Cup, and they began by playing a round-robin. If you want to wager on all rounds of different cricket tournaments, visit the 1xBet platform today.

After the round-robin, the top eight teams from the first round qualified for the knockout stage, which began in a quarter-final. After that, they continued all the way until playing the great final match.

Winning Teams

There were plenty of teams that won the Nissan Shield in its many editions. The most winning squad was Transvaal, which was also known as the “Mean Machine.” Explore the TVbet wheel of fortune betting at 1xBet, and at this website, you can wager on great South African cricketers too.


This squad won a total of nine editions of the tournament too. Also, two teams won the competition four times each, which were Eastern Province as well as Western Province. Another team that also reached an interesting level of success was Natal, which proclaimed themselves champions a total of three times.

The last two editions of the Nissan Shield were won by Orange Free State, which was their only two titles of this kind. At 1xBet, you can make betting on its TVbet wheel of fortune too, which can reward you as much as its spectacular cricket section can do. Other squads who won this competition once were Rhodesia and even an Eddie Barlow XI.